R3-Personal Injury in South Carolina

If you or one of your loved ones has been hurt and are in need of compensation from the person or people accountable for an accident, you should be aware of some of the laws and the filing system in South Carolina and how these things may impact your claim. Having an attorney can significantly assist in this process as they are knowledgable in these areas and know if any laws have changed and what is the best course to take when filing a claim. If you or a loved one have been injured, The Rembert Law Firm is here to help you. 

 

If you've been hurt, the first thing you need to do is take care of the injury. The severity of the injury will require different treatment. For instance, if you've been hurt severely, you may need to call an ambulance, or if, on the contrary, the injury is mild, you may need to set up an appointment with your doctor as quickly as possible.

After you have treated your injuries, contact an attorney to advise you on the proper protocols you may need to do to file a claim. Having a lawyer can also be a tremendous burden off of your shoulders and give you comfort knowing your attorney is there to help ensure you are taken care of. Remember to get photos of the injuries and damages caused by the accident. Record the names and addresses of any eyewitnesses and their contact information. Try to get a copy of the police report and any bills you receive from the doctor or hospital regarding your injuries. This information may be needed for evidence later on and benefit your case. 

When filing a personal injury lawsuit, it is vital to keep in mind that there are statutes of limitation. Which means an individual has a set time frame for filing a lawsuit. In South Carolina, the Statute of Limitations varies according to what kind of personal injury claim you are filing. Your lawyer will be able to tell you when the deadline is and what you need to know in order to file a claim. The sooner you begin the process of filing a claim, the faster it will go. These cases can be time-consuming, so start the lawsuit process as soon as you can.

Below is a list of several types of Personal Injury Claims in South Carolina and the Statute Of Limitations on these kinds of claims:

Wrongful Death (3 years)

Defamation (2 years) 

Negligence (3 years)

Assault and Battery (3 years) 

In most Personal Injury claims, a person requires compensation for medical bills caused by the injury, wages lost due to the individual being unable to work, in some cases the loss of a loved one, property damage, pain and suffering, and even reputation damages. Your lawyer will be able to aid you in calculating the total amount of damages done and how much compensation may be required. 

If you or a loved one have been injured and intend to file a claim having a lawyer at your side can make the claim process a lot easier on you and potentially result in a better outcome. Also, having a lawyer can help with other things associated with Personal Injury lawsuits such as talking with witnesses, discovery, filing the essential paperwork, keeping up with the deadlines, and of course, advocating on your behalf.